About Us

Principal Investigators

Samuel Evans Adunyah, PhD
MMC co-PD/PI, MMC-VICC-TSU Cancer Partnership
Professor and Chairman
Department of Biochemistry, Cancer Biology, Neuroscience, and Pharmacology
Meharry Medical College
sadunyah@mmc.edu

Duane Smoot, MD
MMC co-PD/PI, MMC-VICC-TSU Cancer Partnership
Professor of Medicine
Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs
Meharry Medical College
dsmoot@mmc.edu

Tuya Pal, MD
VICC PD/PI, MMC-VICC-TSU Cancer Partnership
Professor of Medicine
Ingram Professor of Cancer Research
Associate Director, Cancer Health Disparities
Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center
tuya.pal@vumc.org

Karen M. Winkfield, MD, PhD
Executive Director, Meharry-Vanderbilt Alliance
Ingram Professor of Cancer Research,
Dept. of Radiation Oncology, VUMC
Director of Diversity & Inclusion,
Dept. of Radiation Oncology, VUMC
Professor of Medicine, Meharry Medical College
karen.winkfield@meharry-vanderbilt.org

Quincy Quick, PhD
TSU co-PD/PI, MMC-VICC-TSU Cancer Partnership
Associate Vice President of Research and Sponsored Programs Chief Officer of Research
Tennessee State University
qquick@tnstate.edu

Margaret Whalen, PhD
TSU co-PD/PI, MMC-VICC-TSU Cancer Partnership
Professor of Chemistry
Tennessee State University
mwhalen@tnstate.edu

LaMonica Stewart, PhD
MMC co-PD/PI, MMC-VICC-TSU Cancer Partnership Associate Dean of Academic Affairs
Professor of Biochemistry and Cancer Biology
Meharry Medical College
mwhalen@tnstate.edu