Internal Advisory Committee

The Meharry Medical College/Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center/Tennessee State University Cancer Partnership (MVTCP) implements successful internal planning and evaluation processes to strengthen the Partnership. The function of the Internal Advisory Committee (IAC) is to provide oversight on matters of MVTCP institutions. Objectives of the IAC are to 1) ensure all aspects of the Cancer Partnership are operating in an integrated fashion to achieve goals, 2) maximize efficient use of Partnership resources, 3) maintain or select external review panels for projects and programs, 4) convene to resolve problems or consider new opportunities that arise in operation of the Partnership. While all PIs and co-Leaders of projects and cores are invited to IAC meetings, the composition of the nine voting members of the IAC reflects the multidisciplinary thrust of the programs and the Partnership. Members are chosen based on their scientific/professional training, leadership roles on campus, Partnership roles, and commitment to cancer disparities.

IAC co-Chairs:

LaMonica Stewart, PhD
Interim Associate Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Research
Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry, Cancer Biology, Neuroscience, and Pharmacology
Meharry Medical College
lstewart@mmc.edu

Consuelo Wilkins, MD, MSCI
Professor of Medicine, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Vice President for Health Equity, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Associate Dean for Health Equity, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Co-Director, Vanderbilt Institute for Clinical and Translational Research
consuelo.h.wilkins@meharry-vanderbilt.org

IAC voting members:

Kimberly Dahlman, PhD
Associate Professor of Medicine
Director, Innovative Translational Research Shared Resource
Leader, Integrated Science Courses
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
kim.dahlman@vumc.org

Jennifer Cunningham-Erves, PhD, MPH
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Assistant Professor, Department of Internal Medicine
Meharry Medical College
jerves@mmc.edu

Debra Friedman, MD
E. Bronson Ingram Chair in Pediatric Oncology
Professor of Pediatrics,
Director, Division of Hematology-Oncology
Vanderbilt University
Co-Leader, Cancer Control and Prevention Program
Associate Director, Center Community Science and Health Outcomes
Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer
debra.l.friedman@vumc.edu

J. Shawn Goodwin, PhD
Associate Professor
Director, Morphology Core
Coordinator, Fundamentals of Neuroscience Course
Department of Biochemistry, Cancer Biology, Neuroscience, and Pharmacology
Meharry Medical College
jgoodwin@mmc.edu

Oscar Miller, PhD
Department Head & Professor, Department of Sociology
Tennessee State University
omiller@tnstate.edu

Kushal Patel, PhD
Professor, Department of Public Health, Health Admin, and Health Sciences
Licensed Clinical Psychologist
Tennessee State University
kpatel1@tnstate.edu

Maureen Sanderson, MPH, RD, PhD 
Professor, Family & Community Medicine
Meharry Medical College
msanderson@mmc.edu

Rebecca Selove, PhD, MPH
Research Associate Professor, Center for Prevention Research
Tennessee State University
rselove@tnstate.edu

Sarah Suiter, PhD
Director, Community Development & Action M.Ed. Program
Associate Professor, Human & Organizational Development
Affiliate Faculty, Center for Biomedical Ethics & Society
Affiliate Faculty, Institute for Global Health
Vanderbilt University
sarah.v.suiter@vanderbilt.edu